The Hourglass Begins

The Hourglass begins.
A new year begins
For some it’s the beginning of the rat race.
The bacon has been set and the rats are on the prowl.

For us it’s different.
We are the children of the most High.
Dedicated and consecrated for times like this.
Educated on the golden nuggets of Heaven
Charting our path with confident Ease.

I set goals for the New Year,
Not mine but His.
Lofty goals centered on His will,
Flying on the winds of the Almighty.

I am determined to rise.
Rising above the riddles of the time,
The chasms and the narrow edges of the tangled Web,
Tomorrow promises hope buoying me to safety.

Pains, heartaches, and disappointments,
Are left at the port of entry,
Bordering the passage way to a New Year
Sheltering the blessing that lie within.
I choose to rely on the whims of the Almighty

The hourglass slowly drips
Time once lost is ne’er regained
We simply guard the time that remains.
Redeeming the time with never faltering faith,
Herding me along the streams of living water.

I wait for the table laid before me,
Searching patiently at the graciousness of His goodness
I reminisce on the abundance of the Father.
Whatever it takes, I move closer to His gentle side.

My hands are below His and I Pause.
He is gentle and strong,
Man of war and captain of peace,
The Prince and the King,

I submit my thoughts to the inbox of Jehovah,
I wander what attachment I will receive with the mail.
No matter my lot, I know, it is well.
Happy New Year as the hourglass begins.

©2011, Muyiwa Babalola.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dolapo Babalola
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:18:38

    This is a new day, a new month, a new year and a new decade!!! It is a great opportunity to reflect, refocus, and regroup on our lives, goals, and vision. As we do so, please let us keep on our finger tips that “We are all magnificient creations capable of the greatest accomplishments.” We are ONE OF A KIND!!! Never before in the history of human existence and never again will there be another YOU OR ME.”
    With God as our partner, nothing shall be impossible for us! No matter what we saw last year, 2011 will be full of unimaginable, unarguable and notable testimonies for us all. HAPPY NEW YEAR AND LET THE HOURGLASS BEGIN!!!

    Reply

  2. Lara Daniels
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 21:04:53

    Happy new year to you too Dolapo. The hour glass poem was a good confirmation of what our heavenly Father is saying to his children. Thank you for this inspirational message. Praying for an awesome year for you too and your family.

    Reply

  3. Yemi Hopewell
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 21:33:42

    Thanks for sharing…I’ve been lifted and now have the right attitude for 2011…Keep up the great work.

    Reply

  4. Gloria Joseph-Raji
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:31:55

    I really concur with Lara Daniels who says that the hour glass poem is a good confirmation of what God is saying to His children in these times. All of it coincides with God’s messages to me this period.

    With so much chaos, confusion, negatives and “casting down” in all the world around us, God’s children can indeed rise and shine, flying on the winds of the Almighty. This is indeed our time, our season; for we are different!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

